An information and calculation tool by Die Katzothek
Phosphorus Calculator for Cat Food
Making phosphorus levels in wet and dry food comparable.
Manufacturers state phosphorus in different units. In addition, foods contain different
amounts of water and energy. This calculator converts the label information into
comparable values:
Phosphorus as % of dry matter
Phosphorus in mg per 100 kcal
All calculations take place exclusively in your browser. Your inputs are not sent to a
server.
Calculator
Comparison of foods
Comparison of the foods entered
Phosphorus on label
Saved foods
Saved foods are stored only in the browser on this device (localStorage). There is no
cloud and no user account. Use “Edit” to load a food into the calculator, change it and
save the changes.
No foods saved yet.
Backup
Download your saved foods as a file so you can import them again, e.g. after switching
devices or in another browser. Importing adds the foods; foods that already exist are
not duplicated.
Show reference values
The following information is for guidance only and is not an
assessment of any particular food. Whether a food is suitable for a specific cat cannot
be derived from a single phosphorus value.
The nutritional guidelines of the European pet food industry federation FEDIAF
recommend a minimum phosphorus content for complete foods for adult
cats of 0.26 % of dry matter or 64 mg per 100 kcal of metabolisable
energy. For indoor and neutered cats, for which FEDIAF assumes a lower energy
requirement, the value is 0.35 % DM or 85 mg per 100 kcal; for growth
and reproduction it is 0.84 % DM or 210 mg per 100 kcal FEDIAF 2025.
The FEDIAF values are a voluntary industry recommendation, not a legal limit. The
dry-matter values assume an energy density of 4 kcal per gram of dry matter and
need to be corrected for foods with a different energy density
FEDIAF 2025. The per-100-kcal value does not need this correction.
For cats with kidney disease, IRIS names a phosphate-restricted renal diet as the first
step to lower blood phosphate IRIS 2026.
The IRIS treatment recommendations are based on the blood phosphate value and
the IRIS stage of the cat. They do not state a fixed phosphorus content for the food
IRIS 2026.
Reference values as of September 2026. Sources below.
Why isn't the percentage on the can enough?
Cat foods contain different amounts of water. The label states how much under
“moisture” – for wet food this value is naturally much higher than for dry food.
If phosphorus is simply given as a percentage of the whole food – that is, as
fed (the food as it is in the can or pouch) – the water is included. Two foods can
therefore show very different values on the label even though the phosphorus content of the
actual nutrient mass is similar.
Dry matter is the food without its water. A value “on a dry matter basis”
therefore describes the nutrient concentration regardless of how much water the product
contains. This makes it easier to compare:
different wet foods with each other
wet food and dry food
foods with different water contents
Example
Food A
Water80 %
Phosphorus on label0.20 %
Dry matter20 %
Phosphorus DM1.00 %
0.20 ÷ 20 × 100 = 1.00 % DM
Food B
Water70 %
Phosphorus on label0.25 %
Dry matter30 %
Phosphorus DMapprox. 0.83 %
0.25 ÷ 30 × 100 ≈ 0.83 % DM
Although food B appears to contain more phosphorus at 0.25 % on the label, it contains
less phosphorus than food A on a dry matter basis.
Enter the moisture for dry food, too
Dry food labels also state a moisture value. For an accurate calculation, use this value
instead of assuming 0 %. Mathematically, the higher the dry matter content of a food,
the smaller the difference between the label value and the dry matter value.
Why look at mg phosphorus per 100 kcal?
Dry matter allows a good comparison of nutrient concentration. It does not, however, take
into account how energy-rich a food is – its energy density (calories per
amount of food).
Mathematically, providing the same amount of energy takes more grams of a lower-energy food
than of a higher-energy one – and therefore also more of the phosphorus it contains.
The figure mg phosphorus per 100 kcal shows how much phosphorus comes
with 100 kcal from this food. This makes it easier to compare foods with different
energy densities.
The FEDIAF nutritional guidelines also state their nutrient recommendations per
1,000 kcal. Their dry-matter values assume an energy density of 4 kcal per gram of
dry matter and have to be corrected for other energy densities
FEDIAF 2025.
Phosphorus and chronic kidney disease
Phosphorus is an essential nutrient for which the FEDIAF nutritional guidelines set minimum
levels in food FEDIAF 2025.
For cats with chronic kidney disease (CKD), the International Renal Interest Society (IRIS)
recommends reducing phosphate intake so that the blood phosphate value stays within a target
range. According to IRIS, evidence suggests that this is beneficial for cats with kidney
disease. The first step is a phosphate-restricted renal diet; if the value remains too high,
phosphate binders are added IRIS 2026.
The target values depend on the IRIS stage. IRIS also names further laboratory values for the
decision, such as FGF23, and recommends monitoring calcium: cats whose blood phosphate is
already within the target range may be at increased risk of high calcium levels when renal
diets are introduced IRIS 2026.
A calculator therefore cannot decide whether a particular food is medically suitable for an
individual cat. This page deliberately does not classify foods as “good” or “bad” and does
not use a traffic-light rating based on a single phosphorus value.
Phosphorus or phosphate?
The two terms sound similar but do not mean the same thing:
Phosphorus refers to the nutrient or chemical element as stated in the
feed analysis (e.g. “phosphorus 0.17 %”).
Phosphate is the compound whose value is measured in the blood. The IRIS
target values also refer to the blood phosphate value IRIS 2026.
The calculator on this page works exclusively with the phosphorus content of the
food. It says nothing about a cat's blood phosphate level.
Method and formulas
All inputs are first converted to consistent internal base values:
Phosphorus in mg per 100 g of food, as it is in the package
Moisture in %
Energy in kcal per 100 g
Phosphorus units
% (as on the label) → mg/100 g = value × 1000
mg/100 g → used as is
mg/kg → mg/100 g = value ÷ 10
g/kg → mg/100 g = value × 100
% of dry matter → % as on the label = value × dry matter ÷ 100
Energy units
kcal/100 g → used as is
kcal/kg → kcal/100 g = value ÷ 10
MJ/kg → kcal/kg = value × 239.006, then ÷ 10
Estimating energy (if not stated)
If the energy content is missing, it can be estimated from the analytical constituents. The
calculator uses the prediction equation for cats from the FEDIAF nutritional guidelines
(based on NRC 2006) FEDIAF 2025. All values in %, as on the label:
Metabolisable energy (kcal/100 g) = gross energy × digestibility ÷ 100 − 0.77 × crude protein
NFE stands for “nitrogen-free extract”, essentially the carbohydrates. It is not stated on the
label and is therefore calculated as the remainder. If the declared values add up to slightly
more than 100 % due to rounding, NFE is set to 0. An energy value from the manufacturer
always takes precedence over the estimate.
Calculations use full precision internally; values are only rounded for display (dry matter
to two decimal places, mg per 100 or 1,000 kcal to whole numbers). If phosphorus was
already entered as % of dry matter, it is not converted again using the moisture.
Plausibility notes
A note appears below a field if a value is probably due to a typing or unit error – for
example, if an energy content would mean more energy per gram of dry matter than pure fat
provides (9.4 kcal gross energy per gram
FEDIAF 2025). Such notes do not assess any food and do not prevent a calculation.
Numbers with a comma followed by exactly three digits, e.g. “1,700”, are read as thousands.
The note below the field then shows how the value was understood.
Frequently asked questions
How do I convert phosphorus to a dry matter basis?
First subtract the moisture from 100 – this gives the dry matter share. Then divide the
phosphorus value from the label by this share and multiply by 100.
Example: 0.17 % phosphorus at 80 % moisture gives 20 % dry matter and
therefore 0.17 ÷ 20 × 100 = 0.85 % phosphorus in the dry matter. This is
a plain unit conversion; the calculator above does it automatically.
Why also mg phosphorus per 100 kcal?
This value relates phosphorus to the energy the food provides. The FEDIAF nutritional
guidelines also state their nutrient recommendations per 1,000 kcal
FEDIAF 2025.
The FEDIAF dry-matter values assume an energy density of 4 kcal per gram of dry
matter. If a food differs, they have to be corrected according to FEDIAF
FEDIAF 2025. The per-100-kcal value does not need this correction.
What is the minimum phosphorus content of cat food?
The FEDIAF nutritional guidelines state these minimum levels for complete foods (DM = dry matter) FEDIAF 2025:
Cat
% DM
mg/100 kcal
adult
0.26
64
adult, indoor or neutered
0.35
85
growth and reproduction
0.84
210
These are minimum values for healthy cats from a voluntary industry guideline – not legal
limits and not recommendations for cats with a disease.
How much phosphorus should food for cats with kidney disease contain?
The International Renal Interest Society (IRIS) does not state a fixed phosphorus
content for the food. Its treatment recommendations are based on the blood
phosphate value IRIS 2026.
According to IRIS (2026), evidence suggests that cats with chronic kidney disease benefit
from a long-term reduction of phosphate intake that keeps blood phosphate below
1.5 mmol/l (4.5 mg/dl), but not below 0.9 mmol/l (2.7 mg/dl). As a
more realistic target under treatment, IRIS names below 1.6 mmol/l (5.0 mg/dl)
for stage 3 and below 1.9 mmol/l (6.0 mg/dl) for stage 4
IRIS 2026.
According to IRIS, the first step is a phosphate-restricted renal diet. If the value
remains above target, phosphate binders are added. Which measure is right is decided by
the veterinary practice based on the laboratory values
IRIS 2026.
Is less phosphorus always better?
No, not across the board. Phosphorus is an essential nutrient for which FEDIAF sets
minimum levels FEDIAF 2025. Even for cats with kidney disease, IRIS names a lower limit for blood phosphate
(0.9 mmol/l) IRIS 2026.
IRIS also points out that cats whose blood phosphate is already within the target range
may be at increased risk of high calcium levels when renal diets are introduced
IRIS 2026. This calculator therefore deliberately does not rate foods.
Does it matter where the phosphorus in the food comes from?
According to FEDIAF, high intakes of highly bioavailable inorganic phosphorus compounds
(e.g. sodium dihydrogen phosphate) of 1.5 g per 1,000 kcal or more can affect
indicators of kidney function in cats. Studies with 1 g per 1,000 kcal showed no
detectable adverse effects on renal health in healthy adult cats. FEDIAF considers further
research necessary FEDIAF 2025.
The calculator works with the total phosphorus stated. It cannot tell which sources the
phosphorus comes from.
How accurate is the energy estimate?
The calculator uses the prediction equation from the FEDIAF nutritional guidelines (based
on NRC 2006). According to FEDIAF, it estimates the energy content of dry food more
accurately than the so-called modified Atwater factors; for wet food, both methods are
only moderately accurate FEDIAF 2025. If an energy content is stated on the package, it should be preferred – the
calculator then uses it automatically.
Are my inputs stored or transmitted?
No. All calculations run in your browser. Data is only stored when you click “Save food”
– and only on your device. A backup is downloaded as a file to your own device. When you
share a link, the values are contained in the link itself and are only read in the
recipient's browser when it is opened.
Sources & date
Medical information and reference values as of September 2026.
Nutritional Guidelines for Complete and Complementary Pet Food for Cats and
Dogs. FEDIAF (European Pet Food Industry Federation), September 2025 edition.
europeanpetfood.org – Nutritional Guidelines.
Accessed 16 September 2026.
Used for: minimum phosphorus levels (tables III-4a/b), conversion
assuming 4 kcal per gram of dry matter (table III-2), inorganic phosphorus compounds
(footnote f), energy estimate and gross energy of nutrients (chapter 7.2.2), energy
requirement of indoor and neutered cats (chapter 7.2.4.2).
Treatment Recommendations for CKD in Cats.
International Renal Interest Society (IRIS), modified 2026.
iris-kidney.com – IRIS Guidelines.
Accessed 16 September 2026.
Used for: blood phosphate targets by stage, stepwise approach
(renal diet, phosphate binders), FGF23 and calcium monitoring.
The conversion formulas are plain unit calculations and need no source. Medical and
nutritional statements on this page are marked with their source where they appear.
Please note
This calculator is intended solely for information and for comparing foods. It cannot
replace a veterinary diagnosis, nutritional advice or treatment recommendation.
In chronic kidney disease, the choice of food, laboratory values, phosphate target and, if
applicable, the use of phosphate binders should be agreed with the treating veterinary
practice.
Food
Enter the value exactly as it appears on the package – usually under “analytical
constituents”, e.g. “phosphorus 0.17 %”. Only choose “% of dry matter” if the
manufacturer explicitly says “on a dry matter basis”. If the value is missing, you can ask
the manufacturer.
Stated on the package as “moisture”. Please enter the stated value for dry food, too, not 0.
The energy content is needed to calculate phosphorus in mg per 100 kcal. It is not stated on
every package – in that case you can have it estimated below.
No energy content stated? Estimate it from the constituents
Copy the values from the analytical constituents on the package. The
moisture from above is used automatically.
The estimate uses the equation from the FEDIAF nutritional guidelines (NRC 2006)
FEDIAF 2025. The result is an approximation and may differ from the actual energy content. An
energy value stated on the package is more accurate.
Calculate daily phosphorus intake (optional)
A plain calculation from amount of food and phosphorus content – not an assessment and
not a recommendation for a particular cat.
Phosphorus in dry matter
–
This value removes the influence of water content and makes it easier to compare
different foods.
Show calculation
Phosphorus per energy
–
This value shows how much phosphorus the food contains relative to the energy it provides.